‘It’s A Good Job Santa’s Real!’ A Christmas poem by Pippa Wilson

A Christmas poem for all the Keepers of the Family Happiness. (One for the grown-ups!)

Many thanks to all the readers of my blog, and to all the fabulous contributors in 2016. Lots to come in 2017!

Merry Christmas to you all! 

Pippa xxx

 

IMG_20160815_214143_kindlephoto-48886882

Couldn’t resist sketching Raymond Briggs’ bloomin Father Christmas!

🎅It’s a Good Job Santa’s Real 🎅

It’s a good job Santa’s real,
because if it were left to me,
The annual stocking-filling ordeal
might be a calamity.

After years of soothing babies
in the middle of the night,
I know I’m not that stealthy
or good at keeping quiet.

See: every time I try to move
my joints go crick and creak.
I know Saint Nick would disapprove
of my blundering technique.

As I tiptoe out the bedroom,
toys lurk beneath my feet.
I tend to set off tinkling tunes,
And unleash booming beats.

I slip and slide on rogue balloons,
wobbling, quite unsteady;
I go crashing into piles of games,
and squash some squeaky teddies.

I’d never in a million years
get that stocking in position.
And anyway, let’s face the fact:
Being pissed will kill the mission.

So thank you, Santa. You’re a star…

…I’ll leave it ALL to you.
Hoorah!

Pippa Wilson December 21st 2016

2 comments

  1. Haha! Love it. Merry Christmas! ❤

Leave a Reply

